Kissing Girls on Shabbat: A Memoir (Compact Disc)

Kissing Girls on Shabbat: A Memoir By Sara Glass, Sara Glass (Read by) Cover Image
By Sara Glass, Sara Glass (Read by)
$39.99
Email or call for price

Description


A moving coming-of-age memoir in the vein of Unorthodox and Educated, about one young woman's desperate attempt to protect her children and family while also embracing her queer identity in a controlling Hasidic community.Growing up in the Hasidic community of Brooklyn's Borough Park, Sara Glass knew one painful truth: what was expected of her and what she desperately wanted were impossibly opposed. Tormented by her attraction to women and trapped in a loveless arranged marriage, she found herself unable to conform to her religious upbringing and soon, she made the difficult decision to walk away from the world she knew. Sara's journey to self-acceptance began with the challenging battle for a divorce and custody of her children, an act that left her on the verge of estrangement from her family and community. Controlled by the fear of losing custody of her two children, she forced herself to remain loyal to the compulsory heteronormativity baked into Hasidic Judaism and married again. But after suffering profound loss and a shocking sexual assault, Sara decided to finally be completely true to herself. Kissing Girls on Shabbat is not only a love letter to Glass's children, herself, and her family--it is an unflinching window into the world of ultra-conservative Orthodox Jewish communities and an inspiring celebration of learning to love yourself.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797180946
ISBN-10: 1797180940
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: June 11th, 2024
Language: English

Sit 'n Knit